Seeing self

this self portrait is striking me. feeling seen, by *me* feels powerful. it partially roots and grounds me, partially shakes  me, sending me flying. this is who i am. this is the look in my eyes. i know this person to the depths of her soul. i feel her fear and doubt. i feel her love, fiercy and deeply. i know what she is capable of, and I know when she holds herself back from shining fully. she is me.
taking pure self portraits is intense work. i hadn’t really realized it until just now. previously when i’ve done self portraits i hid. (these were often assignments for school, well over 15 years ago)  i had masks and poses, mirrors and smoke. mostly figuratively. i’ve never looked at me straight on, without the shields. made an image and then really LOOKED.
let this gaze be a reminder to me. of who I am and who I want to be. of how beautiful and strong I am. of what I want to do and what I need to do to get there. being and owning my truth. my authenticity.
and loving myself. being enough. and valuing, cherishing and adoring me.
how about you? let’s see your true self. what does it feel like to sit looking deeply into yourself?

6 responses to “Seeing self

  1. Lovely!!!!!!! Real, intense, truth

  2. And I hope you know what an INSPIRATION you can be to those who know and Love YOu!!!

  3. thank you for your honesty. i quoted you on shutter sisters. loved your word “squirmyness.” there is no squirmyness is this photo or post. just strength.

  4. Beautiful shot, beautiful blog post.

  5. What courage, truth, and finally inspiration. Thanks.

  6. mira, i love this photo of you, it is just simply… you. It takes courage to see yourself, really see. you amaze and inspire me!

Leave a Reply

