The Albert Family Chocolate Cake

Well, I’ve let way too long go by without posting. Not that I haven’t had anything to post, I’ve just been paralyzed by my learning curve with Lightroom 2.

A recently new online friend Christine Gross-Loh, author of The Diaper-Free Baby: The Natural Toilet Training Alternative“, a book I love, highly recommend, and used with great success, and creator of Origami Mommy, put out a request for an awesome chocolate cake.  I couldn’t resist the call. My family’s cake is divine, rich, moist and everything _I_ could hope for in a chocolate birthday cake. My friends probably come to our birthday parties just to eat cake.  After making the cake Christine asked if I would post the recipe here so she could share the joy. Sadly, I don’t have a stellar photo of said cake to share. But birthday season is just around the corner, so perhaps I’ll have to remedy that soon.

Meanwhile, here is the recipe, Enjoy!

Butter 2  9″ round cake pans (i prefer to line the pans w/parchment paper)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix in large bowl (love the kitchen aid for this):

2 cups sugar
1 stick butter

add:
2 eggs beaten
then alterate:
2 cups flour
1 cup milk (i often use soy milk and it works just fine)

then:
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
dash salt

3/4 cup cocoa (i use hershey’s baking cocoa-this is NOT sweetened)
and lastly add:
1 cup boiling coffee

beat for 4 minutes
pour into pans
bake 20-25 minutes, check with a toothpick

Chocolate Icing:
6 TB butter
1/2 cup cocoa (for medium icing) or 3/4 cup cocoa (for dark icing)
2 2/3 cup confectioners sugar 10x
1/3 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract (i usually add lots more)

cream butter, add cocoa, confectioner sugar alternating with the milk. beat to spreading consistency. add’l milk may be needed. blend in vanilla. makes ~2 c frosting.

4 responses to “The Albert Family Chocolate Cake

  1. I can’t wait to try this recipe – thank you f0r sharing your family secret! It was posted on my birthday, which I take as a good omen :)

  2. Thanks so much, I spotted this link on Christine’s blog. Sounds so easy and yummy!

  3. i will sure give it a try and make them into cupcakes.

  4. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I’ve made the cake for a couple birthdays now, and it’s become a family favorite for us as well.

Leave a Reply

